I thought they were extinct!

Listening to Rascal Flatts –mood is …good. Yeah, good.
Oh what a week. Yesterday while at work I had the pleasure of a lady walking up to me and asking for my help. Not a problem. You would think. “I need help getting a dresser, can you help me?” Her
“Sure, not a problem. If you go get a cart I will be happy to help you.” Me
“At the other Costco, they get the cart and meet me over there.” Her
This is how the conversation went. I did go get the cart, and I asked one of my co-workers to call some of the night merchants to help out this lady as I was on the verge of biting her head off. I really really wanted to yell at her. I didn’t think people like her existed anymore. I thought they were all extinct. I mean how helpless do you have to be. I am sure I must have offended the lady (and really in retrospect, what she asked wasn’t all that bad, nor was what I asked her) by asking her to get her own cart. I figure she was offended that I would expect such a thing of her. Probably not as offended as I was about her asking, but come on, didn’t we go through the whole liberation front and what have you just so that we could do things on our own? At what point did it become ok to be helpless again? I am sure I am blowing this all out of perspective but now, one whole day later it is still bothering me. I will admit it could be because I’m hormonal but I don’t think so. On the positive note it reminded me why I dislike people and why I need to get my act together so that I can get out of this position.

On another note, I started looking at going back to school in the fall so that I can finally finish my degree. It seems like my self imposed “break” has been longer than 3 semesters, but it hasn’t. (Not that 3 semesters isn’t long) But it is time to go back. I have only 5 classes to finish and then the dreaded transferring of said credits to be either accepted or not by my college. I cringe just thinking about all of the hoops they will be making me jump thru just to complete my degree. 2 of the classes will be easy enough as they will be language classes, but the other three have to meet certain…requirements. It’s both a headache and a nightmare waiting to happen. On the plus side at least I will be busy. That’s it for school. I think that should make life more then busy with everything else that I have started lately. We will see how many new white hairs I can add to the count. Perhaps my whole head will just turn white, leaving me without the bother of having to keep track anymore.

On a new note, has anyone else noticed an increase in the weight loss trend lately? It’s like a whole new craze has started recently- not that that is a bad thing- but I don’t think I have ever seen so many people on this band wagon. It is interesting (read scary) to listen to the different things that people are doing to loose weight. Luckily for me I work with people who have been severely overweight (read Obese) before and I listen to what these people say about losing weight. Most of them did it the easy way (surgery) but there are a few that changed their eating habits and did the exercise. I met a woman who used to weight 400 lbs. the other day and she looked like a tooth pick. It is always cool to see people like that as it gives me hope that such feats are capable of being accomplished.

Well, that’s it for tonight. I’m going to sit back and listen to some music for a bit before heading to bed. Before I leave though I feel the need to share a joke one of my friends sent to me. It’s a little lame but I thought it was absolutely hilarious:

A sign on the lawn at a drug rehab center said: ‘Keep off the Grass.’

4 Comments

  1. LOL…I would have bitched slapped her quickly. It is amazing how helpless people are. Good luck in going back to school. It’s always a good thing to finish something you started…regardless of how long it takes. You can always buy a wig any color you like? LOL. Weight loss…pffft…who cares. Ya just gotta be happy with yourself I think. Love the joke 🙂

    Like

  2. Are you sure it was helplessness and not superiority? After all, it is your job (peon) to wait on her.

    My niece would do the helpless act — probably still does — to get people to wait on her. She would say things like, “Where?” and “How” with this lost & bewildered look on her face. I would say, “Well, when it’s important enough to you, I’m sure you’ll figure it out.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

