Snow White and the Huntsman

Spoiler Alert! If you don’t want to know don’t read  (Though very little will be given away).

My Family and I went to go see Snow White and the Huntsman today. As movies go it was kinda an ‘eh’ if you know what I mean. I do have to say that is was very much a ‘PG’ movie if only for the suggestion of violence, otherwise it really could have been classified as ‘G’. Also, don’t go expecting it to be like the cartoon Disney put out. You should Probably expect some…differences.

My 14 year old daughter liked it, but I think that was mostly because she’s crushing on Chris Hemsworth (though she’s whispering in my ear it was because she liked the story!) She said it was different. My husband took a nap at some point during it. As for me it wasn’t until halfway through the movie that I realized I was bored. Don’t get me wrong, the cinematography and FX were great. I mean, it’s kinda difficult to make a giant tortoise look awesome or come up with a really cool twist on the old troll but they managed quite spectacularly. So no, visually the movie was great. Now for the story line and the actors.

Chris Hemsworth: Not bad. Could’ve used something a little more but with what he had in the way of dialogue not bad. He shows potential as something other than a man in tights type of hero-It shows he has all the earmarks of being a hero in worn leather just as well and without his hammer. Woe be to the man who meets him and his Axe. I’m starting to see a pattern here with him. Though his character has depth (he lost his beloved wife and discovered he didn’t like himself unless he had a woman to show him a better way) it too was lacking.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Charlize Theron: The girl can act and I could probably just leave it at that but… She makes a great witch and let’s just face it-she can really rock the black cloak of doom. As always she did great with her role and there is very little I can find to dislike about her character (my husband was rooting for her to kill everyone-he’s got a crush) except that it was a little to much on the ‘woe be me’ side. A little more tears and not as much evil magic as one would suspect of her character. In short, the writers humanized her and made us all feel a little sorry for her.

The Dwarves: OK-who doesn’t like Dwarves. Except my kid but that’s only because there’s not much in the way of a height difference! (ooh got a MOM!!! for that one-see what happens when you read over someones shoulder?) I can’t really say anything bad about  the actors, the acting or the dialogue. They definitely brought the movie together better. And all without being the comic relief of the movie.

 

 

Kristen Stewart: I saved her for last because it’s going to be the longest. I am neither for Kristen or against her, but to date I haven’t really seen what she can do. Twilight shows she has staying power, but I am still looking for the actress to come out. Watching her is almost like watching the rehearsal part of the film where people are still holding up boards with the script on them. It feels stilted and unnatural. The best parts of this movie for me was where she was running and couldn’t talk and when everyone thought she was dead and she was just lying there. Though to give an actor their due, she showed better in this film then she did in the first Twilight movie. I’m still trying to figure out how she got the parts. Maybe no one else is as pale?

Though the movie was mildly entertaining, I was more focused on Theron’s character more then Stewart’s.  I wish I had wasted my hard earned money on something else and just waited for video.  The coolest part about the whole thing was being off on a Sunday and spending time with the family.

One thought on “Snow White and the Huntsman

  1. Pingback: Movies, Music and how to sign out of FB off my cell… | Ordinarily Just Me

Leave a Reply

